Duo van der Ploeg / Hasegawa

It was the love for the oboe and playing chamber music that brought Esther and Yukiko together. Now they have been playing and performing together for several years. Their choice of repertoire comprises the journeying to diverse musical worlds, which often features works from the 20th century. The duo searches the expanse of different compositions for the 20th century oboe. This is a very exciting period in time, hosting many contrasting and opposing philosophies.

Next to their regular concerts as a duo, they work together with storyteller Rens van Hoogdalem, and they made three enchanting story concerts.

Rosy Wertheim

In this programme you will be taken into the life of the special Judish composer Rosy Wertheim. She was one of the first women who achieved her diploma at the Conservatory. Besides the fact that she was a good composer, she was also an important figure in the social and cultural life in Amsterdam. In this concert, her life of before and during World War II will be exposed. 

Portret van Rosy Wertheim, in 1947 gemaakt door Riete M. Sterenberg-Gompertz

Crossing of the Styx

In this unique programme full of secrets and wonders the audience will be escorted into the adventurous and mythological world of the Ancient Greeks. You will encounter the mytical love history of Orpheus and Euridice, and though the beautiful music of Ravel, Poulenc, Liszt and others, the story will come alive. 

Joachim Platinir (1519-1524) “Landscape with Charon Crossing the Styx”

Ithaka aan de Horizon

In this programme you will be carried away to the adventurous world of the Ancient Greece. You will be taken at the years of wandering of Odyssues, the king of Ithaka, where his beautiful wife is waiting for him. This story is being enlivened with the music of Ravel, Koechline, Prokovief, Doráti, Debussy and others.   

Arnold Böcklin (1827 – 1901) – Odysseus und Polyphemus (1896)

For further information about Yukiko, take a look at www.yukikohasegawa.com

Back to top